Adding notes to whereabouts
Last updated
Who can do this: Company admins turn on day notes. All users can add notes. Plan: Premium and Enterprise (and free trials).
By adding notes to whereabouts you can give more detail to a day for everyone to see.
What are day notes good for?
Day notes are a brilliant way to manage your workforce if:
- You have multiple clients or customers and want to keep track of visiting them
- You have multiple locations that aren't offices such as stores, warehouses or construction sites.
Day notes let users add where they will be on a day in more granularity.
How to enable notes on days for your company account
You can only add notes to days if you are on the Premium Plan. Notes can be turned on for custom whereabouts and for the default whereabouts "Office", "Working from home" and "Non working day". They can't be added to "Holiday" or to any other leave option.
- As a Company admin go to Settings > Custom whereabouts.
- Add a new whereabouts or tap the pencil icon to edit an existing one.
- In the Final set up section on the page you will see a toggle to Enable day notes.
- Turn on day notes and tap Save. Day notes don't work on whereabouts that are set up as leave options.
You can find more instructions here on creating custom whereabouts.
Adding day notes
- To add a note to a day go to the "Team View" under the "Whereabouts" tab.
- Set your whereabouts as you normally would by selecting a day.
- Whereabouts with day notes turned on show an "Add note" button.
- Tap "Add note" and type your note. Notes can be up to 100 characters.
- Tap "Save".
The note window also shows up to three of your Recent notes for that whereabouts. Tap one to use it again.
The note will now be added to the Team View, and to your work calendar if calendar sync is on.
Others can view this information by hovering or tapping the small note icon.
Changing or deleting day notes
Each day has one note. To change it, tap the day, tap "Add note" on the same whereabouts and enter the new note. It replaces the old one.
To delete a day note, clear the day in the Team View:
- Tap the day
- Tap the "Clear day" button.
Week notes
If you have "Week Notes" enabled then day notes are automatically appended to the Week Notes.
Syncing to your work calendar
If you have logged in with a Microsoft 365 or Google account and calendar sync is on, your day notes are added to the event description in your Outlook or Google work calendar. Calendar sync needs a Company admin to turn on Calendar sync in Settings > Company settings > Whereabouts management, and you to turn on Add events to your work calendar in Settings > Personal preferences. See Syncing whereabouts to your work calendar. If you have issues with syncing your whereabouts please check the troubleshooting guide here.